FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Answers for You
We have compiled a list of frequently asked questions and answers for our students’ convenience. If there is anything you can’t find, we encourage you to call our office today and ask for assistance.
WHAT IS YOUR CANCELLATION POLICY?
As we are regulated by the Texas Workforce Commission, effective February 7, 2022 our cancellation policy will be listed in the Student Enrollment Agreement.
HOW CAN I APPLY FOR FINANCIAL AID?
Financial assistance for eligible students may be available through the Texas Workforce Commission’s Workforce Solutions Office, GI Bill, Hazelwood Act, Texas Public Education Grant (TPEG), Texas Workforce Commission Vocational Rehabilitation Services, and the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA).
HOW ARE THE COURSES BROKEN DOWN?
It is as simple as a Theory Phase (ELDT) with or without CLP, a Behind-the-wheel Range, and a Behind-the-wheel Road.
HOW IS YOUR SCHOOL DIFFERENT FROM OTHER SCHOOLS?
Unlike most other CDL training schools in Houston, we are approved and regulated by the Texas Workforce Commission which means that we comply with the laws of the State of Texas of Schools and Colleges. We also offer:
An online platform where you will have access to multiple learning resources like PDFs, videos, and many others, that will certainly help you prepare for everything you going to face in the process to get this license.
You will have access to our Computer Lab, a quiet room perfect if you don't have a quiet place to study at your house.
You will have access to our yard where there will ALWAYS be at least one truck and a supervisor. We know that learning something online, on paper, or through videos is not the same as doing some HANDS-ON learning. Therefore, here you could actually see and touch the truck and its components; a supervisor will also be around to answer any question you might face.
WE DO NOT HAVE DEADLINES. You set your own deadlines, we will give you all the study material for each section and YOU WON"T move forward without successfully passing a test for each section.
EXTRA CHARGES... Let's say for example that you feel ready to take a test for Form A from the Pre-Trip Section, you come to the yard, you ask a supervisor to evaluate you and you pass, then AND ONLY THEN you'll gain access to the next section B. HOWEVER, IF YOU DON'T PASS, you will have to wait until next day before taking that evaluation again. On average for multiple reasons we have students taking 3 attempts on each evaluation, 3 times 5 sections it's 15 extra days. WE WON'T CHARGE YOU FOR THESE EXTRA DAYS, you can take 15 days or 1 month and that's totally fine with us, we understand that not everybody learns at the same phase neither have the same amount of time to study.
Now, we DO HAVE to charge extra; when we take you to the DPS so you can take the practical test and something FAILS FROM YOU SIDE like for example you failed, you were late, or you forgot a document, WE WILL CHARGE you for every time we have to send a truck back to the DPS for your test, obviously if something fails out of your hand, like bad weather; WE WON'T CHARGE YOU.
DO YOU HAVE A COMPLAINT POLICY?
Of course. Pursuant to Texas Workforce Commission's Career Schools and Colleges rule 807.301, all licensed schools are required to post visible notices so that Students can address their concerns about the School or any of its educational programs by following a grievance process outlined not only in our School Catalog, but also posted throughout our School premises, as well as on our website. To access our Student Complaint Policy please click in the button below.